“ The essence of all religions is one. Only their approaches are different.” - Mahatma Gandhi

Kolkata International Film Festival

The Kolkata International Film Festival (KFF) is an annual film festival held in Kolkata, India. Founded in 1995, it is the second oldest international film festival in India. The festival is organized by the West Bengal Film Centre under the West Bengal Government.

The 18th Kolkata Film Festival will be held from 10 to 17 November 2012. Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, MithunChakraborty, DevAdhikari, KoelMallick, Katrina Kaif, Anushka Sharma, Chief Minister Smt. Mamata Banerjee and many other luminaries inaugurated the festival at Netaji Indoor Stadium on 10 November 2012.

The Government of West Bengal created Nandan the West Bengal Film Centre in 1985. The centre was inaugurated by Satyajit Ray. From the moment of its foundation the Kolkatan film buffs demanded their own film festival.

In 1995, Nandan organized its first ever independent film festival. Within a couple of years it was recognized by FIAPF (International Federation of Film Producers' Associations – Paris), the international authority of film festivals.